Record turn-out for SU elections

first_imgThe new record beat the previous best set in the Michaelmas Term 2013 election, where 4,494 votes were cast. Faruk’s slate, Impact, saw 3 of its 5 candidates for senior positions elected, with Neil Misra taking the role of SU Vice President for Graduates and Ray Williams taking SU Vice President for Access and Academic Affairs. Faruk, former editor of the Oxford Student beat candidates Ivy Manning and Ellie Milne Brown to become President of the Students’ Union. She won the vote in a final round contest against Manning. Anisha Faruk has been elected President of the Oxford University Students’ Union on a record turnout, with 4,792 ballots cast. Kathryn Husband, Olivia Railton, and Arya Tandon were also elected as NUS delegates, while Alexander Kumar and Grace Davis have been announced as Student Trustee. The election was held to elect the SU President, 5 Vice Presidents, 3 Student Trustees, 6 NUS delegates, and RAG National and International Charities. Oxford Gatehouse and KEEN Oxford were voted RAG national charities, and Meningitis Now and Beat (Formerly Eating Disorder Association) are RAG international charities. Amber Sparks and Roisin McCallion, both running on the Aspire slate, took SU Vice President for Women and SU Vice President for Welfare and Equal Opportunities, respectively. A number of independent candidates were elected to the SU. Matthew Judson was elected independently to be a student trustee while Zehra Munir, Jim Brennan, and Rashma Rahmany all won successful independent bids to become NUS delegates.last_img read more